Wile E. Coyote EQ Profile

20130829-165206.jpg

It’s not a great moment for me. After a life of studies, teaching and consulting in respectful Institutions and Organizations, I have to write another post about Wile E. Coyote… Yesterday I don’t know how many emails I have received about that! I have used the famous Coyote as, in my opinion, funny example of Optimism at the end of a serious article for leaders. You know what? No one asked me about Seligman or my research in the field, but all the comments were on the EQ profile of this animal… I had to imagine it: it’s the communication, stupid! Anyway, considering I think that every way to try to explain something about Emotional Intelligence it’s an opportunity, with the help of my 9 years’ son Ricky I am ready to try! Before going ahead, let me ask to be forgiven by the University of Bologna and by Six Seconds… 🙂

First of all, let me say I am going to use the Six Seconds model, based on three areas: Self Awareness (Know Yourself), Self Management (Choose Yourself) and Self Direction (Give Yourself).

20130829-173522.jpg

Inside the model, you can see 8 competences that I am going to try to explain briefly (if you want to know more go to the Six Seconds’ website). Ok, no more excuse we are ready to evaluate the Wile E. Coyote EQ:

Self Awareness
Enhance Emotional Literacy (identifing and interpreting feelings) – Low
Recognize Patterns (acknowledging frequently recurring reactions and behaviors) – Very Low

Self Management
Apply Consequential Thinking (evaluating the costs and benefits of your choices) – Very Low
Navigate Emotions (assessing, harnessing, and transforming emotions as a strategic resource) – High
Engage Intrinsic Motivation (gaining energy from personal values & commitments vs. being driven by external forces) – Very High
Exercise Optimism (taking a proactive perspective of hope and possibility) – Very High

Self Direction
Increase Empathy (recognizing and appropriately responding to others’ emotions) – Low
Pursue Noble Goals (connecting your daily choices with your overarching sense of purpose) – Very Low

So we can say the Coyote is low in Self Awareness and Direction but pretty good on Self Management. Overall, I would say his Emotional Intelligence is below 100, the average score.

It would be great if Wile E. Coyote was available to take the real SEI or at least a 360 degree evaluation, but I am not so confident… 🙂

Let me ask you the last questions: What about your EQ? Are you aware of your strengths and weaknesses? Are you training your Brain to improve your Emotional Intelligence? Did you know that EQ is strongly correlated with performance, health and happiness?

If you want to start exploring, I suggest you to take this book (a great opportunity to understand the model and have an idea of how to increase your Emotional Intelligence)

Leave a Reply

